How Do I Display Variation Swatches on Archive or Shop Page for WooCommerce?

attributes-in-catalog

I added this code via the code widget:

<?php

global $product;
if ( $product->is_type( 'variable' ) ) {
    $default_attributes = $product->get_default_attributes();

woocommerce_variable_add_to_cart( $product, $default_attributes, array(), true );
} else {
    woocommerce_simple_add_to_cart();
}
?>

But it does not work with InfiniScroll

3 Likes

Hey did you figure this one out? @Denis

Would like to know this also. I specifically want a dropdown menu on product archive pages when a product has product variations. So then user can choose a product variation and directly add it to the card.

I played around with ChatGPT and got a snippet that works, but i am not good with this. Although it does work (Ajax add to cart enabled in Bricks > Woocommerce), but has errors in. I only hope maybe someone can improve upon this. It seems possible.

The very experimental code snippet for use on a product archive page. When doing custom product archive query loop, dont forget to have dynamic {do_action:woocommerce_after_shop_loop_item} in your “card”.

/**
 * Show a dropdown menu on product archive pages for variable products with variations.
 * When a user selects a product variable from the dropdown menu the product should be added to the cart.
 */
add_action( 'woocommerce_after_shop_loop_item', 'add_variation_select_to_archive_page' );
function add_variation_select_to_archive_page() {
    global $product;

// Check if the product is a variable product
    if ( $product->is_type( 'variable' ) ) {
        // Get the available variations for the product
        $variations = $product->get_available_variations();

// Only show the dropdown if there are variations available
        if ( ! empty( $variations ) ) {
            ?>
            <form class="variations_form cart" method="post" enctype='multipart/form-data'>
                <?php