How to Sort a Query Loop Depending on Dropdown Selection

I have a query loop that I’d like to be able to sort depending on whether or not a dropdown is selected. I planned on just having two loops on the page, one sorted in ascending and the other in descending, and then having their render logic be tied to a value of the HTML field.

I expected the code to be something like:
If element ID === new query loop && value_of_dropdown === newest_first:
render

if element ID === old query loop && value_of_dropdown === oldest_first:
render

I am new to web development but my understanding is that the issue is that the HTML doesn’t have any way of communicating the update because the PHP is run on the server side without a POST request. What are my options in order to make this work?

I’m also messed around with this but ran into the same problem of not being able to get the value of the HTML

Here’s a quick and easy way of doing it without needing two loops. It does refresh the page though:

1. Create two buttons (ASC + DESC or whatever you want to call them)
  2. Link one to ?c_sort=asc
  3. Link the other to ?c_sort=desc
  4. Catch the query value and sort accordingly by putting something like this in your child theme functions.php file
add_filter( 'bricks/posts/query_vars', function( $query_vars, $settings, $element_id ) {

// If the url query parameter c_sort is set, let's sort the query
  // URL query being like: domain.com/products/?c_sort=asc
  if ( isset( $_GET['c_sort'] ) ) {

// Tells the query to sort by title, you can also choose other
    // parameters to sort by (like date, author, category, etc)
    $query_vars['orderby'] = 'title';

// If c_sort is equal to asc, order the query ascending
    // This is a short form if statement without the brackets
    if ( $_GET['c_sort'] == 'asc') $query_vars['order'] = 'ASC';

// If c_sort is equal to desc, order the query decending
    // This is a long form if statement with the brackets