It would be extremely helpful if we had the option in Bricks settings (so as not to disrupt existing sites) to add existing class names to elements without activating that class name. (When creating a new class, obviously activate that for styling.) When building pages, we want to define a class once and then apply it to elements. Rarely is the intent to edit a class when adding it to an element. It’s extra clicks to deselect it and easy to forget that the class is active, especially for clients.
I am now in the habit of locking all classes after I create them initially so I and other editors don’t accidentally edit the class settings. I’m glad the lock feature is there! But it’s confusing to editors to assign the class and then deselect it to continue editing if they aren’t doing this very frequently.
My current thinking is that if a class is locked, when it you add it to an element, the element itself (its id selector) remains active rather than the class. On the extremely rare occasion that I need to edit a locked class, I would be happy to click it again to activate it and unlock it, rather than the much more frequent click-to-deselect.
Yes, I agree 100%. I override classes by mistake quite frequently because they are not locked and I didn’t notice the active class. As @glp pointed out, I set up classes at the beginning and afterwards I want to use them, but not changing them. For me the class addition without auto-selection would be the expected standard behavior.
Locking the class solves the problem of overriding something by accident. I still have the extra click every time to deselect the class.
There are already a few settings under Bricks → Builder → Control Panel:
- Class dropdown: Auto-select first class
- Class dropdown: Disable auto-selecting last selected class
A perfect addition would be:
- Class dropdown: Auto-select added class
Or - Class dropdown: Disable auto-selecting added class